Tuesday, February 19, 2008

Morgan Fisher - Miniatures

An LP compiled by Morgan Fisher in 1980 on the Pipe label , which featured 51 tracks, all no more than one minute in length. Here's the first 16-

1. ollie halsall & john halsey / bum love
2. the residents / we're a happy family + bali ha'i
3. roger mcgough / the wreck of the hesperus
4. morgan fisher / green and pleasant
5. john otway / mine tonight
6. pete challis & phil diplock / my way
7. robert wyatt / rangers in the nightst
8. stinky winkles / opus
9. mary longford / body language
10. andy 'thunderclap' newman / andy the dentist
11. david bedford / wagner's ring in one minute
12. fred frith / the entire works of henry cow
13. maggie nicols / look beneath the surface
14. joseph racaille / week-end
15. the work / with wings pressed back
16. neil innes & son / cum on feel the noize

Morgan Fisher was overwhelmed by the number of ideas he thought up for albums that he could now record and release. Realising that it was impossible to do everything he conceived, he decided to see how many of these ideas could be included on one album. Rather than recording the music himself, he invited 50 musicians who he admired to send in tracks of up to one minute in length. They responded with unanimous enthusiasm, and as well as receiving tapes through the mail from all over the world, Morgan also packed up his Revox tape recorder and went to several musicians homes to record them there. Original artwork for the sleeve was provided by Ralph Steadman.


Hope Muntz said...

Ooo, nice one. My fave tracks are the Ivor Cutler and the guy from the Damned.

BTW, did you know there was a Miniatures 2?

Anonymous said...

superb, very nice. i also have a site about miniatures
its nice and informative too.